Did you know? All of these messages will likely be replaced before release.

[UT] C++ Particle Emitter

For questions and discussion about UnrealEd, UnrealScript, and other aspects of Unreal Engine design.

Moderators: Semfry, ividyon

.:..:
Skaarj Warrior Skaarj Warrior
Posts: 68
Joined: 20 Dec 2007, 13:06
Location: Finland
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 28 Jul 2008, 13:16

Creavion wrote:Really good stuff, but the "particle count limit of 1000" sucks.. to be honest...

It's not a limit, just a recommended max particles.

User avatar Feralidragon
Skaarj Lord Skaarj Lord
Posts: 223
Joined: 15 Jul 2008, 22:41
Location: Liandri

Subject:

Post Posted: 28 Jul 2008, 14:52

.:..: wrote:
Creavion wrote:Really good stuff, but the "particle count limit of 1000" sucks.. to be honest...

It's not a limit, just a recommended max particles.


Yeah, I already did wheather effects with 3000 particles and no lag at all.

However, I did my little experiments and placed 2 beams with 200 particles each and 1 mesh with 100 or 150 mesh particles.

And somewhat they were working well in the editor, but when I started UT, it hanged really badly, I spent 5 min to close it (expecting an error msg like a GPF or something) and no error has appeared. I must say that I had some more stuff in the map, and accidently made duplicate in preview mode (which worked), maybe that was the reason.

Anyway, good work :tup:

.:..:
Skaarj Warrior Skaarj Warrior
Posts: 68
Joined: 20 Dec 2007, 13:06
Location: Finland
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jul 2008, 18:21

Added project source codes link for anyone who would like to update or fix this mod.

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jul 2008, 18:50

.:..: wrote:Added project source codes link for anyone who would like to update or fix this mod.

Just dont want this stupid Particle count limit.. thats all.. please remove it.. please :lol:
>:E
--------------------------------------------------
Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX

--------------------------------------------------
>:E

User avatar ividyon
Administrator Administrator
Posts: 2354
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 14:43
Location: Germany
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jul 2008, 18:59

.:..: wrote:
Creavion wrote:Really good stuff, but the "particle count limit of 1000" sucks.. to be honest...

It's not a limit, just a recommended max particles.
UnrealSP.org webmaster & administrator

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jul 2008, 19:28

sana wrote:
.:..: wrote:
Creavion wrote:Really good stuff, but the "particle count limit of 1000" sucks.. to be honest...

It's not a limit, just a recommended max particles.

Are you sure? During testing I didn`t see a difference between 1000 and 10000 or 5000 ...
>:E

--------------------------------------------------

Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX


--------------------------------------------------

>:E

User avatar Stakhanov
Skaarj Warrior Skaarj Warrior
Posts: 53
Joined: 02 Aug 2008, 18:42

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Aug 2008, 15:35

Looks like the mesh emitter is broken , cannot properly render most models besides the default crate and a few others. Looks like it's due to missing LODBias attribute , models spawn with 4-8 polys like when you set LODBias to 0.

Using UT version 436 here.

.:..:
Skaarj Warrior Skaarj Warrior
Posts: 68
Joined: 20 Dec 2007, 13:06
Location: Finland
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Aug 2008, 16:19

Stakhanov wrote:Looks like the mesh emitter is broken , cannot properly render most models besides the default crate and a few others. Looks like it's due to missing LODBias attribute , models spawn with 4-8 polys like when you set LODBias to 0.

Using UT version 436 here.

Good that you notified me.. I'l fix it right away.

EDIT: It's changed now, the download link for v. 1.1 is still the same.

User avatar Stakhanov
Skaarj Warrior Skaarj Warrior
Posts: 53
Joined: 02 Aug 2008, 18:42

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Aug 2008, 22:27

Works fine now. Very nice stuff.

Just nitpicking , some monsters like gasbags and spinners have MultiSkins , so part of their texture cannot be changed with the current emitter. Well it might not warrant new texture arrays , using the emitter's own display properties should be good enough.

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Aug 2008, 23:19

Would that help?

//=============================================================================
// SkinChanger.
// Coder: Wolf
// Project: USU - Unreal Skaarj Unleashed
//=============================================================================
class USUSkinChanger extends Triggers;

var() name TargetActor; //Tag oft the Target Actor
var() texture NewSingleSkin; //New Texture for "Skin" (only if bUseMultiSkin
var() bool bUseMultiSkin; //Replace "MultiSkins" or "Skin"
var() texture NewMultiSkin[8]; //New Textures for "MultiSkins"
var() bool bEmptyMultiSkins; //Delete all "MultiSkins" when using "Skin"?
//If set "false", MultiSkins[0] overwrites "Skin"
//If false Multiskins set here as "none" will NOT
// be deleted



function Trigger( actor Other, pawn EventInstigator )
{
local Actor A;
local int i;

foreach AllActors(class 'Actor', A)
if ( A.Tag == TargetActor)
{
if(bUseMultiSkin)
{
for(i=0; i<=7; i++)
{
if(NewMultiSkin[i]==none)
{
if(bEmptyMultiSkins)
{
A.MultiSkins[i]=none;
}
}
else
A.MultiSkins[i] = NewMultiSkin[i];
}
} else {
if(bEmptyMultiSkins)
{
for(i=0; i<=7; i++)
{
A.MultiSkins[i]=none;
}
}
if(NewSingleSkin==none)
{
A.Skin=none;
} else {
A.Skin = NewSingleSkin;
}
}
}
}
>:E

--------------------------------------------------

Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX


--------------------------------------------------

>:E

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject:

Post Posted: 08 Aug 2008, 06:56

Waah again double post whatever

I have noted a problem:
Well, all works fine so far but I hoped the "I am looking out of the window and see it rains" would work. So what I mean. if I am somewhere inside a building, near the entrance to the outside part where it rains, I hoped to see that there is rain. But it doesnt work. The rain appears only if I am outside.
Any ideas what I can do?
>:E

--------------------------------------------------

Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX


--------------------------------------------------

>:E

User avatar Feralidragon
Skaarj Lord Skaarj Lord
Posts: 223
Joined: 15 Jul 2008, 22:41
Location: Liandri

Subject:

Post Posted: 08 Aug 2008, 10:42

Yeah, I saw that problem as well, but the thing is, the way that is scripted, it's normal that you can't see it from a window (zone based, only rains if you're in the zone).

But there's a simple way to turn around: change the wheather emitter property something from Zone based to Box or something, then adjust the emitter like a normal emitter (box range) and place them near the windows. This is the only way I found...

User avatar ividyon
Administrator Administrator
Posts: 2354
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 14:43
Location: Germany
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 08 Aug 2008, 13:20

Or add a one-sided sheet in the window which has a rain texture and is only visible from inside. :)
UnrealSP.org webmaster & administrator

User avatar Creavion
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 745
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:43

Subject:

Post Posted: 08 Aug 2008, 15:54

sana wrote:Or add a one-sided sheet in the window which has a rain texture and is only visible from inside. :)

Edit: well, bad idea... I have to try out this with the box thing.

Edit 2: Box settings failed, too :/
>:E

--------------------------------------------------

Waffnuffly wrote:Holy shit a HOUSE-SIZED BOX


--------------------------------------------------

>:E

User avatar Feralidragon
Skaarj Lord Skaarj Lord
Posts: 223
Joined: 15 Jul 2008, 22:41
Location: Liandri

Subject:

Post Posted: 08 Aug 2008, 21:28

Creavion wrote:
sana wrote:Or add a one-sided sheet in the window which has a rain texture and is only visible from inside. :)

Edit: well, bad idea... I have to try out this with the box thing.

Edit 2: Box settings failed, too :/


There's a field that is set something Zone, did you change it to Box? If you didn't, the box will never work :lol:

Previous Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests

Copyright © 2001-2024 UnrealSP.org

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited