Did you know? UBerserker loves the Dispersion Pistol.

[UT] RMusicPlayer beta - music player for UT.

For questions and discussion about UnrealEd, UnrealScript, and other aspects of Unreal Engine design.

Moderators: ividyon, Semfry, zYnthetic

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 15:41

When I start listen server, everything works fine. Volume issues was because while fading in, volume stops at 53% from unknown reason. I've moved it into native part and everything works fine. Tell me if everything works fine with that listen server, and I'll try to find reason for this.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Buff Skeleton
>:E >:E
Posts: 4158
Joined: 15 Dec 2007, 00:46

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 16:01

All right, I tried out the new version and replaced my gametypes' postlogin code functions, so now the save/load works fine. However, when loading a save and re-triggering music, the volume seems to get reset until I open the volume control window, at which point it automatically goes back to what it should be.

[Edit] After restarting UT, it doesn't do this.

[Edit2] New coop code of yours no longer crashes dedicated servers either (not using UA's fix on this version), but music still doesn't play for the client.

I don't see RMusicPlayer *anywhere* in UnrealTournament.log or server.log, either.

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 16:21

Use standard CoopGame2 not my. RMusic_Player will automatically detect level change.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Buff Skeleton
>:E >:E
Posts: 4158
Joined: 15 Dec 2007, 00:46

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 16:26

I can't use CoopGame2 since EXU2 coop has a lot of custom code in it, unfortunately. Do you want me to just test with CoopGame2 to see if music works for clients there?

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 16:32

Or just comment-out RMusicPlayer related part.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Buff Skeleton
>:E >:E
Posts: 4158
Joined: 15 Dec 2007, 00:46

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 16:38

OK, but that will only ensure that music will never play. :)

Also, I'm getting this crash now when I trigger a music controller to start playing in singleplayer:

Image

Is there something simple I'm overlooking?

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 17:09

No :) I don't use smth like this at dedicated/listen server and it works. Gametype is mainly used to restore music in SP. Controller exists clientside and it starts without a problem.

I'm also getting this kind of error but in dedicated server after few 'fixes' I'm working on :P. It shouldn't occur in SP (in fact I never had it at all).
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Buff Skeleton
>:E >:E
Posts: 4158
Joined: 15 Dec 2007, 00:46

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 20:29

The SP error stopped. Weird. I didn't start a new campaign or even make a new save.

I'm also seeing some other things:

Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_SetCfgVolume :: FMOD error :: RMusic_SetCfgVolume :: (36) An invalid object handle was used.

and then this, which happened when the music volume WAS really low but I had since increased it, but the increase didn't take effect until I reopened the volume control window:

Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_Play :: Stream created from file ..//Music//DoW - Coming of Chaos.mp3
Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_Play :: Playing sound
Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_Play :: Volume is 0.24
DevMusic: Unregister music: Music olroot.null
DevMusic: Load music: Music RMusicPlayer.null
Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_SetVolume :: inserted 48
Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_SetVolume :: Old 0.24
Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_SetVolume :: Volume should be 0.48 and is 0.480000 :: (0) No errors.

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 20:39

It's debug info. Don't mind this thing:

Init: RMusic_Player :: RMusic_SetCfgVolume :: FMOD error :: RMusic_SetCfgVolume :: (36) An invalid object handle was used.

Just have to change few things in Fade/crossfade states. Are you using TRANS_Instanly or TRANS_Fade?? Anyway, did little update.

So does volume change like it should or not ?? I also had similar bug, but only with old version. New one works fine except triggering play on dedicated server (it's replication issues).
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Buff Skeleton
>:E >:E
Posts: 4158
Joined: 15 Dec 2007, 00:46

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 20:47

I'm not totally sure; if I change the volume in-game, it works, but if I load a save it goes back to what I had until I reopen the volume control window. If I close and restart UT after this, it seems to work constantly just fine. I also seem to get these GPFs randomly when using quicksaves, but not with hard saves.

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 27 May 2008, 21:02

Strange, it should work good. Will investigate it tomorrow.

EDIT:

Still fighting damn replication :), but I've added two functions to controller - pause and unpause (with fading in/out support).
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Buff Skeleton
>:E >:E
Posts: 4158
Joined: 15 Dec 2007, 00:46

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Jun 2008, 00:05

Is a new version available in the original post? The Pause/Unpause functions sound very useful :tup:

And I'm consistently now getting crashes when music starts playing if I:
1) Start UT
2) Load a quicksave
3) Trigger music (or if music is already playing based on when I saved)
4) Game crashes.

To prevent this,
1) I load UT
2) Load a hard save
3) Load the quicksave
4) Trigger music
5) Play as long as I like; no crashes, even after multiple reloads and saves.

I hope this helps narrow down the quicksave issue. It seems that you only crash the game in SP if you load a quicksave where music is playing or you trigger music after loading a quicksave. At one point, I loaded a quicksave and played for about an hour before I died, at which point the game crashed (since I have the maps set up to play music when you die). Loading a hard save and dying or loading the hard save and then a quicksave resulted in no more crashes.

It seems that quicksaves aren't loading some required resources that hard saves DO load.

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Jun 2008, 01:37

Well, the quick save is normal save. Will need to check this out, tnx for the info. I bet it's somewhere in the game info. Unfortunately I've got to take a break for a while. The end of academic year is near and I've got to learn :).

I'll upload updated version with new sample (gametype+info+playerpawn) and that pause/unpause function.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Raven
Trustee Member Trustee Member
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Jun 2008, 10:54

New version is uploaded (I've also posted changelog in first post), maybe It'll be more stable then the last one.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar ElectricIce
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 728
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 20:42
Location: Somewhere lost in Na-Pali
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Jun 2008, 11:37

how can you load UT, from another game? *silly joke* since you said Start ut at the "crash log"

Previous Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Copyright © 2001-2020 UnrealSP.org

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited