Page 1 of 1

AA introduces texture artifacts

Posted: 08 Feb 2019, 08:43
by Diego96
Having used these settings for quite a while with D3D9

Code: Select all

NoAATiles=True
NumAASamples=4
UseAA=True

I found that they were actually messing with my screenshots and I kept assuming it was because of DX9 or the mod I was using. Turns out antialiasing is not very well implemented. Disabling it fixes the issue.
Image
Image

I'm now pretty much forced to use FXAA through the same injector. You guys should check it out if you were using AA.

Re: AA introduces texture artifacts

Posted: 08 Feb 2019, 10:38
by Sat42
I don't have this problem now but used to have it with my older PC - indeed I now systematically use FXAA and those immersion breaking artifacts ("edges") are now consigned to history :)

Thanks for pointing out the actual issue! I didn't know why it got better when I changed graphics card... :P

Re: AA introduces texture artifacts

Posted: 15 Feb 2019, 16:54
by gopostal
That's a texture clamping issue. AA just sharpens that edge and so you see it. Skyboxes are notorious for showcasing them. That's why mappers cheat by moving the texture 1 unit in overlap.