Did you know? UBerserker loves the Dispersion Pistol.

Technical question

For public discussion of "Savage Land" and other Red Nemesis projects.

Moderator: Mister_Prophet

TalonHunter
Skaarj Scout Skaarj Scout
Posts: 14
Joined: 31 Jan 2009, 04:47

Subject: Technical question

Post Posted: 31 Jan 2009, 04:51

i am unfortunatley completeley clueless as to technical info, so just to clarify, will i be able to Run Residiul Decay on an older computer (intel 82150 intergrated graphics chip+512 ram)?
I am the Master of the Obvious and Defender of DUH

User avatar TheIronKnuckle
Gilded Claw Gilded Claw
Posts: 1967
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 07:21
Location: Riding my bicycle from the highest hill in Sydney to these forums

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jan 2009, 09:53

You will definately be able to run it. It still uses the first unreal engine, so if you can run that, you can run this. Although performance might be an issue because i think proph and the team have made various enhancments and tweaks to the engine. Videos of these new engine features can be found on teamrednemesis's youtube channel.

These new effects might hinder performance somewhat.
ImageIgnorance is knowing anything
And only idiots know everything

Kaka
Skaarj Berserker Skaarj Berserker
Posts: 475
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 00:21
Location: Trójmiasto
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jan 2009, 09:55

They won't affect the performance ( the features from the video) , they will be unavailable on such graphic card.

User avatar Raven
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jan 2009, 12:22

:tup: besides graphic extensions can be disabled.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Jethro
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 686
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 00:15
Location: Aboard Von Braun

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jan 2009, 12:44

From RedNemesis official website:

System Requirements: (speculated minimum)
Unreal Tournament v436
UT Bonus Packs 1, 4
Old Skool Amp'd 1.6 (included)
1.2GHz Pentium class processor
512MB RAM
Direct X 5 compatable GPU 32MB

So your computer meets the minimal requirements, although, as already said, don't expect the new visual effects to be aviable as they require shaders v2.

Also, it might be "still first unreal engine", but I remember trying to play Xidia on my old P III 650 MHz...
UBerserker wrote:Story: totally guessed that Skeletor was the thief.

User avatar Mister_Prophet
Red Nemesis Leader Red Nemesis Leader
Posts: 3109
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 23:30
Location: Lost in Oraghar

Subject:

Post Posted: 31 Jan 2009, 22:14

That assessment is out of date, but likely accurate still.

We won't know the exact minimum requirements until Beta, but I can't imagine it being much different. Our original call was "If you can play Seven Bullets, you can play RD", but that was quite a while ago.

But there's no getting around the fact that whatever minimum, or maximum, we reach...we're comparing to standards set in 1999-2003. I don't think it's too much to ask for gamers to have something good enough by now to handle the task. We're doing our best to cater to the performance needs of any user able to purchase and play Unreal Tournament. But gamers have to meet us halfway. If the most advanced game you have on your PC is Unreal Tournament...well there's only so much we can do for you.

TalonHunter
Skaarj Scout Skaarj Scout
Posts: 14
Joined: 31 Jan 2009, 04:47

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Feb 2009, 03:00

so sounds like i need to buy a graphics card then, so ATI or NVidia->which would be better?
I am the Master of the Obvious and Defender of DUH

User avatar Mister_Prophet
Red Nemesis Leader Red Nemesis Leader
Posts: 3109
Joined: 11 Nov 2007, 23:30
Location: Lost in Oraghar

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Feb 2009, 03:06

Up to you.

RD is being developed and tested primarily for Open Gl (a Geforce 6XXX series at the highest, which should be cheap nowadays), although we will support D3D as well.

So really it is up to you. If you don't think you can handle it.

How well did Seven Bullets run for you?

User avatar TheIronKnuckle
Gilded Claw Gilded Claw
Posts: 1967
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 07:21
Location: Riding my bicycle from the highest hill in Sydney to these forums

Subject:

Post Posted: 01 Feb 2009, 08:47

if you include whatever renderer you think is best in the download i'll be happy to take whatever you give me. Right now i run on d3d. but if opengl is better i'll take that. Just please include it in the download. (Which is who knows how many months away.)
ImageIgnorance is knowing anything
And only idiots know everything

User avatar Darkon
White Tusk White Tusk
Posts: 2240
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 15:11
Location: P46153

Subject:

Post Posted: 02 Feb 2009, 15:48

... it also depends on what your pc can run. A lot of vid cards nowadays only run on PCI-Express while your pc most likely only accepts PCI cards.. that's a big difference. Make sure you look for that when you look for a card.
Never trust a Dutchman in a tulip fight.

TalonHunter
Skaarj Scout Skaarj Scout
Posts: 14
Joined: 31 Jan 2009, 04:47

Subject: AGP

Post Posted: 02 Feb 2009, 20:26

mine is actualy a AGP slot, which i can add in a 128 video card, the ATI is 10 bucks cheaper, but i have no clue which one will handle the opengl better(been doing a lot of reading since last post)[(also on my current config{it has no card yet} i cant run openGL, the screen goes grey])
I am the Master of the Obvious and Defender of DUH

User avatar Raven
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 02 Feb 2009, 20:59

I have Palit GeForce 7300GT with DDR3 and I think it's enough for older PC-s (runs perfectly D3D and OGL). You can buy something better but IMHO don't buy too expensive stuff. If it's old PC then there's no sense in investing too much in old hardware.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar kea
SP2D Leader SP2D Leader
Posts: 416
Joined: 19 Nov 2007, 17:15
Location: Ukraine

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Feb 2009, 08:50

GeForce 6800GT is even enough to run UT3 at sane level of detail, and there are AGP versions of such videocards. I'm not sure about AGP 7xxx series.

User avatar Raven
Skaarj Warlord Skaarj Warlord
Posts: 807
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 09:39
Location: Nørresundby
Contact:

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Feb 2009, 11:49

Yes, there are. I have only AGP and 7300GT works just fine.
Madness, as you know, is like gravity…all it takes is a little push!
Image
http://turniej.unreal.pl/portfolio

User avatar Darkon
White Tusk White Tusk
Posts: 2240
Joined: 12 Nov 2007, 15:11
Location: P46153

Subject:

Post Posted: 03 Feb 2009, 15:37

I got ATI 850x? I believe.. runs fine. Winxp crashes every now and then (hardly anymore).. so it must have been a software setting that made it go bad. And yes, AGP.. got it thru Ebay.
Never trust a Dutchman in a tulip fight.

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Copyright © 2001-2024 UnrealSP.org

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited